moosa artstheatre

Entertaining Noosa since 1970!

Patron: David Williamson

NOOSA ARTS THEATRE INC MINUTES OF THE 51st ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD AT NOOSA ARTS THEATRE ON FRIDAY 5th April 2024

Meeting declared open at 7.00pm

- **1. PRESENT:** Committee Members: Frank Wilkie (chair), , Susan Dearnley, Sue Sewell, Judy Hawksford, Diana Thomson, Jann Tuxford, Jennie McCaul, Deb Noyek, plus 46 members, as listed.
- **2. APOLOGIES**: Eileen Walder, Donald Grant, Dixie Walters, Alison Lauritz, Mark Herbeth, Scott Falvey, Cristina McRitchie, Marion Rich, Melissa Long, George Courtney, Nelson Tomlin, Barbara Tomlin, Jo Hendrie. Members of Secret Men's Business, Keith, Bob, Edwin, John, Andy.
- **3. MINUTES:** The Secretary read the minutes of the last Annual General Meeting held on 31st March 2023.

MOTION: - "That the minutes be accepted as a correct record"

Moved: Sue Sewell, seconded Paul Ritchie CARRIED

- 4. BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES: Nothing to report.
- **5. PRESIDENT'S REPORT:** Frank Wilkie presented a verbal report, (attached) thanking all committee members, Front of House volunteers, Secret Men's Business and Mel Long, office manager, for their continued support.

Retiring committee members Julie Massie, Jenni McCaul, Deb Noyek, Jack Scandrett, Cristina McRitchie and AJ Wildey were acknowledged and thanked for their contributions.

MOTION: - "That the President's Report be received."

Moved: Frank Wilkie, seconded Jannine Ritchie CARRIED

6. TREASURER'S REPORT: Judy Hawksford presented a verbal report with a presentation. The Financial Statements were circulated to the meeting.

MOTION: That the Treasurer's Report and financial statements as audited, be adopted. Moved Judy Hawksford, seconded Mickey Craddock.

Questions:

Do we have a public trust account? – Yes.

Are the term deposits rolled over? – Yes, automatically.

Do we look for better rates? – Yes, but we have a special relationship with Bendigo Bank to be considered.

7. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR

MOTION: That Coolum Auditors be appointed as Auditors for 24/25. Moved Judy Hawksford, seconded Margaret Courtney CARRIED

8. ELECTION OF COMMITTEE

The President, Frank Wilkie vacated the chair and asked former President, Paul Ritchie, to commence the elections.

Sue Sewell nominated **Susan Dearnley** as President, seconded by Jane Rivers.

Paul Ritchie announced Susan Dearnley as President as hers was the only nomination received for the position.

Susan took the chair and announced that in response to the call for nominations for the executive positions of the committee, we received and accepted one nomination each for the positions of Senior Vice President, Second Vice President, Treasurer and Secretary.

She declared the following positions elected:

Senior Vice President – Jane Rivers Nominated Susan Dearnley, 2nd Sue Sewell 2nd Vice President – **Jann Tuxford Peterson** Nominated Susan Dearnley, 2nd Jane Rivers Nominated Judy Hawksford, 2nd Deb Noyek Treasurer - Ximena Merino Nominated Judy Hawksford, 2nd Deb Noyek Secretary – Sue Sewell

Committee - Diana Thomson, Nicola Wilson, Margie Wegener, Harvey Sailaway, Craig Sailaway, Frank Wilkie, Ian Glew.

*Question from the floor – With two committee members being Council employees, is there a conflict of interest when applying for Grants? Ans: In that situation, members of Noosa Arts Theatre would have to declare their position to Council.

All new committee members

Nominated Susan Dearnley, 2nd Margaret Courtney

9. APPEALS COMMITTEE

Eileen Walder **Carole Dacey Elle Bergland**

Philip Somerville,

Margaret Courtney All nominated Susan Dearnley/Yvie Somerville CARRIED

NO GENERAL BUSINESS

10. APPOINTMENT OF LIFE MEMBERSHIP

Sole candidate Bronnie Norman was presented with Life Membership, nominated by Sue Sewell.

No further business – Meeting closed at 8.0pm